if both players are tied at 20 points each and player A throws for one point while player B throws a 3 point, does player A win or does player B cancel A's toss? Here is another one for ya, both tied at 20 points, player A throws for 1 point, player B throws for 2 points on the middle rung. Does player B win by cancelling player A's point for 1 and the remaining single point take the match or must the cancel be on the same rung?
Post by Steve King (Admin) on Sept 26, 2007 18:26:36 GMT -6
In scenerio 1, player A would win. Why? Games are played to "exactly 21". Because they are both tossing with the fact that they are both "at 20 points" and either needs to gain exactly 1 point to win. If you play by the cancellation version of the rules, both on the 1 pointer would cancel both players attempt. If you play the version that all points count and both land on the 1 pointer, then you must keep playing rounds until the other player is exactly 2 points ahead of the other player. The all points version is the official Ladder Golf version fo the rules. IN THIS SCENERIO THAT YOU SPEAK OF, player B threw a 3 pointer, making his attempt null since he went over 21.
In scenerio 2, player A wins because he hit 21 exact. Player B went over, nullifying his toss.
As a summary, it really depends if you play all points count (official) or cancelling counts. If all points count, then you have the chance to go into overtime and must win by exactly 2 points. If all points don't count and you can cancel, then you won't get to the OT scenerio, since you must hit 21 exact and someone landing you the 21 mark with you would cancel that attempt to win. You can't go over 21 in the cancelling scenerio, since there is no OT or win by 2 points rule.
**If you play all points count, don't worry, you can STILL cancel someone by trying to hit their bola with yours to knock it off the rung.